Stretch Like a Pigeon

11 02 2010

I’m on a hip opening kick.  Have you noticed?

Recent events have brought me to the awareness that my hips and hip flexors truly need attention.  If I am going to really address my lower back pain, I need to really focus a good part of my practice to releasing the tightness and tension I hold here.

Lower back pain is very much influenced by the state of your hips.  Chances are if you suffer from lower back pain, your hips, hip flexors, and ilio psoas muscles are tight.

The hip flexors run from the front of the pelvis to the rear or posterior pelvis and attach to the vertebral spine.  So the tight muscles will pull on the lower back, and cause tension and stress on those muscles as well.  Hence the development of chronic low back pain.

Psoas or Hip flexors

Because most of western society sits a hell of a lot, our hip flexors are constantly contracted.  Ideally we should either sit on the ground with knees open to the side, or stand, walk or be more active.

The hips directly affect the whole spinal alignment in every pose.  Whether you are in a standing, sitting or twisting asana the hips are very important and you must have full awareness of their alignment.

For example if you are performing a balancing pose and you sacrifice the alignment of the hips to get that hand to toe position, you are surely going to compromise the whole alignment of the spine.

You would do far better to use a prop such as a strap, and keep the hips leveled and aligned.  This will encourage the hips to open and actually get you to perform the pose without a prop in a safer and more effective way.

Remember that whenever your spine is out of alignment, you really fail to get the most therapeutic effects of yoga.  The whole key in every pose is to allow the spine to open, release, and expand with every breath.  Your spine can’t do that if its off center, torqued and compromised by tension and overexertion.

Listen to your body, it will communicate exactly what you need.

King of Hip Openers


In my opinion the Pigeon pose and all its lovely and delicious variations is the Reigning master of hip openers.

Benefits of the Pigeon Pose:

  • Opens hips in a very deep yet safe manner.  You can easily go as far as your body will allow.
  • It allows the force of gravity to mainly do the work.  So this pose allows you the opportunity to truly focus on the breath, on relaxing, and LETTING GO. This is a pose that teaches me, time and time again the importance of just letting  go, and allowing my natural rhythm to flow with the pose.
  • Encourages the ilio psoas muscle to relax, elongate and release as well.  This very deeply situated muscle, is one of the most difficult to relax, and release.  Once this muscle can relax, the door opens to so much more space to be made.  This means you can do deeper in all your asanas.

Tips:

  • Begin by keep the front bent leg more angled, by keeping the foot closer to the pelvis.  Eventually the goal is to get the shin to be parallel to the front of your mat. This takes time, and deep long breaths!
  • Also in the beginning you may find that you cannot fold over the front leg, as in the picture above.  This is ok!  Keep the spine upright, and the chest open.  This will strengthen the back and give you a great chest opener as your hips get stretched. Eventually you will be able to go down to the elbows, and then right down placing your head on the mat. Be patient 🙂
  • Use the back leg that is outstretched behind you to help you align and keep the hips straight in this pose.  Just because this a more passive pose doesn’t mean you lose touch with the alignment of the hips
  • I find pressing into my toes and elevating the heel very helpful to feel the placement of my hips.  By pressing my toes into the mat I can use this leverage to straighten my hips and go deeper once I feel my hips releasing.
  • Above all play and have fun with this pose.  I often see so much suffering during this pose.  It shouldn’t be painful! PULL BACK.  And find the flow and rhythm of the BREATH.  This will change your experience of this pose like magic!  The more conscious you are of the breath in this pose, the more you will get out of it.  Breath deeper, longer, and find a sweet RHYTHM.

Then watch the magic.

There is opening, expanding and releasing like a lotus flower!

Namaste

Piera

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 02 2010
Stretch Like a Pigeon | nv weight loss

[…] full post on Travelling Yogi Posted in Uncategorized | Tags: Like, Pigeon, […]

13 02 2010
SelfHelpGoddess

I really appreciate your blog, Piera! I’ve been doing yoga for about a year now, and am still learning and growing in every practice.

I used to absolutely dread pigeon pose, but now it’s my favorite! The trick is definitely letting go, like you said. I didn’t know that at first:) The letting go I experience in pigeon pose is definitely something I’ve transferred over to my real life, with positive results. Sometimes things really are as simple as just letting go.

Love this line in your post: “There is opening, expanding and releasing like a lotus flower!” I love comparing opening our heart to the opening of a lotus flower, and now I’m going to use this comparison in my yoga practice as well. Thanks for the inspiration!

15 02 2010
daindart

Thanks!! i always have back hurt for being all day long in the computer =)

30 03 2010
mrsjagk

I’ve only recently discovered the greatness of yoga and have found that pigeon pose is my favorite asana. What I’ve noticed though is that I have a hard time not falling over to the side of the leg that is stretched backwards. Do you have any advice?

30 03 2010
yogaheals

Hi there !

Thank you for reading my blog and commenting on my post! Congratulations are in order here for you! You have discovered the beautiful gifts yoga has to offer. These gifts endure a lifetime 🙂 There is so much for you to celebrate now , so happy for you!

As for the pigeon pose, there is so much this pose will teach you about your body and especially your hips. Often when first practicing this pose many find it very very uncomfortable and some dread it. But I assure you with time, it is one of the best to do on a daily basis. IN my opinion it is the safest, and best ways to open the hips. Time is of the essence here. When you fall to one side, this means that your hips are tight, and teh body will try to compensate by trying to find the path of least resistance. Perhaps you are too far into the pose. You need to pull the upper body higher, or even just remain on the hands and not fold over.

Also keep the foot of the extended leg behind you , with the toes curled in and pressing into the mat. This gives you a little more stability to adjust your position in this pose. Use the toes of that extended legs as “guides” they will help to keep your hips straight so as to minimize any leaning off alignment. Does this help? Is is this clear? Let me know how it works out for you!

Love and Light!

Piera

31 03 2010
mrsjagk

PIera,

This helps immensely! I’ve noticed I get off-balance usually after I’ve done one side and then move to the other. Your tips were spot on! Thank you very, very much!

Leave a Reply

