How Yoga can Heal Your Depression

30 11 2009

You know that song “Don’t worry, be happy” , well its really that simple.  We just make is so darn hard to lighten up.  Ok so now that I got that song in your head, are you smiling?   If not keep reading, if you are keep smiling and reading 🙂

Happiness is not some kind of illusive or idealistic thing to achieve.  Its our NATURAL and INHERENT way of simply being.  Happiness is already within everyone of us.  Its just a matter of connecting to and accessing that infinite source that is within.

The only thing (and its a biggie )  that gets in our way is guess what? Come on you carry it around with you, you allow it to make decisions for you, you give it permission to shield you and put up huge defenses in the face of seemingly threatening people, places or things.  Its on the tip of your tongue right?  Actually its really no where , yet we give it such a strong sense of identity that it can pervade and control our whole life.

THE EGO!

Yes that lovely three letter word, that lately in the new age field has been buzzing up a storm amongst gurus and non gurus alike.  The EGO is the thing that prevents our unhappiness. Its probably the most significant in this western culture of ours.  EGO keeps keeps us SCARED, TRAPPED and unable to live our true essence.

DO YOGA and watch the EGO fade, lose its ground and its hold over you.

DO YOGA and release the tangles of the EGO that can overtake your mind, emotions and whole life.

DO YOGA and realize just how happy you are just being present and still.

Sounds like airy fairy stuff?  Well through my own practice I have come to realize that what you perceive is what you become.   Believing in that internal magnitude of energy we call ESSENCE is the key to accessing happiness. It  never fails to serve us.

Yoga is your  ticket to that place.  Well its one way I’ve found to be tremendously effective.

Here is what I have noticed after a YOGA CLASS:

  • I CARE less about the mundane and trivial things: So the overcharges on my phone bill don’t cause me to freak out, the fact my dog chewed through a new set of heels last night simply becomes a write off and I get to go shopping again, the rainy weather actually feels soothing and gives me a chance to curl up and read a book, and waiting in line to pay for my groceries gives me the opportunity to think about my next blog post 😉
  • Right after each and every class I FEEL AMAZING.  That feeling is priceless. Its hard to describe it in mere words.  I feel connected to my inner self, and my intuition is heightened.  I’ve written some of my best articles and chapters to my book (my current work in progress) after my yoga practice.  It clears your mind, releases the EGO and VOILA` HAPPINESS is experienced.
  • I CRAVE LESS: I’m not talking just about food.  I crave less attachment to anything.  I crave less food yes, and less of any other not so healthy habits. Less coffee, less worrying, less about what OTHERS think . Less thoughts about what is or was wrong in my life.  I don’t succumb to the GRASPING SYNDROME. Grasping for external things to find fulfillment. I’ve talked about this before in other posts.  Instead of grasping externally to find a fix, YOGA inspires me to go INWARDS.  Yoga inspires me to reach internally and grasp my own truth, and presence.

YOGA HEALS DEPRESSION.  I’ve seen this in my practice and can attest to witnessing it in the many practitioners I know.  So if you are struggling with depression, are on anti depressants and want a better way to cope,  give Yoga a try.

You just might find yourself needing less Prozac, and more Prana!

A song that simply expresses how simple it is to find happiness, by just simply being and loving life.

YOUR HOMEWORK!

So start a HAPPINESS JOURNAL! Right now.  EVERYDAY write ONE thing that made you smile, laugh, or just feel good.  Once you begin to see that happiness is always there for you, you’ll get ridiculously happy for no reason at all.  You’ll make everyone SICK .  Actually kidding aside, you’ll be giving such a great vibe that you will ATTRACT positive, shining happy people, situations, experiences and events MORE AND MORE.

Warning HAPPINESS is VIRAL. Its the one VIRUS you do want to get this year!

So don’t worry do YOGA….it leads to happiness, I GUARANTEE IT!

No money back guarantee here, as I am giving this info graciously without charge 😉  The best things in life really are FREE 😉

Namaste

Travelling Yogi Piera

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 12 2009
Kathy Vilim

Loved yr post 🙂 One typo .. “The EGO is one thing that prevents our unhappiness.” namaste

2 12 2009
yogaheals

thank you Kathy! I appreciate the feedback, will correct that pronto! Have a great week, and practice :
namaste

12 12 2009
yvesgarden

I love this post and totally agree. I wake to Michael Franti’s song everyday. One of my fav’s. YOGA has changed my life from the inside out. i see things more clearly and also have learned to detach from things and negative energy coming from people.

Namaste

28 12 2009
lilas

i travel, i practise ashtanga yoga and i am fighting againts depress mood, yes yoga is my way to be better

24 01 2010
AlignBetween

Great post! Some may quickly point out that sometimes life IS just so hard sometimes, making it impossible to contain this endless stream of happiness. And they’re right! Things happen…death of a loved one, financial stress, everything going completely wrong on the same day…when everything piles up at once, we easily turn to the quick fixes. And those can be helpful in the short term. Furthermore, happiness and lightness is so very elusive in times like these.

But I love how you point to yoga as a way to naturally and holistically re-balance. I’ve learned over the past year that pain (my father passed away) will sit with you…it will overwhelm you…and sitting in it and letting it wash over you is exactly what you need. Here is where it is absolutely okay to let happiness be something you strive for tomorrow, or next week. It will come in waves. And I believe that yoga helps you get back on the high crest of the wave. And helps as you dog-paddle through the low part.

29 01 2010
Natalia

Beautiful thoughts.

I’d like to point out that yoga once a week will not make you feel better from your depression. But if you do yoga every single day, you WILL notice a HUGE difference. You will be less cranky, less irritable, less moody, more relaxed, feel more in touch with your body (as though you are working with – instead of against – it), and you will flow better with your life. I say this from personal experience.

At the same time, I still take antidepressants. So don’t feel bad if you can’t let go of them yet, and don’t quit them and take up yoga hoping you’ll feel just fine. Never stop taking meds without psychiatric supervision. But as you add yoga to your daily routine, you very well may see that you’ll want to try lowering your dosage of antidepressants or anti-anxiety medications.

Give it a go – you might as well, right?

Besides, yoga can be FREE. You don’t need a mat: just the floor and a blanket in case some poses are hard on your knees. And you can watch free full-length classes on YogaToday.com (1 free class/week) and looking up Yoga Today on YouTube (there are like 5 free full-length classes up). And you can also always download classes via Pirate Bay, BitTorrent, and so on. So money never has to be an issue with yoga. And it’d be pretty fucked up if it were!

Thank you for this blog!

30 01 2010
yogaheals

HI thanks for reading my blog! This particular blog post was inspired from my own work and practice with patients dealing with depression. I see a lot of people suffering with this condition and are on meds. I never advise them to stop their meds, unless they feel the desire to and under supervision of the medicating doctor. I work with people to help lessen the load, and need to rely on meds. I’ve also seen many people totally get off anti depressants once they begin the process of going inwards, healing from within and this usually includes regular yoga practice.

I am not advocating anyone stop taking their meds without supervision and proper therapy to do so. I’ve never been on anti depressants personally, however I have seen many patients suffer just the same while being on them. I would say 90% of the patients I’ve seen in practice have seen very little benefit from being on meds. many complain that eventually things are just the same and the meds either need to be changed, increased or they simply can no longer deal with all the SIDE EFFECTS.

The purpose of my blog post was to bring awareness that people HAVE OPTIONS! You don’t have to settle for one mode of treatment. There are alternatives and you are never alone. There is help out there, and you simply have to reach out and research what can help your own healing process. We are all on a journey, and I believe that healing begins right from within. FIND people that will nurture that philosophy and help you get well without subjecting yourself to what can be unnecessary medication long term.

All the best! and I wish you the best of health and life 🙂
Namaste

Piera

31 01 2010
Natalia

Hi Piera!

I know you never advocated anything – quitting meds completely or anything of the sort 🙂 I said what I said because I know it’s what some people already taking them may consider.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

