That I would be good

20 10 2009

love-your-self

That I would be good

(Click above for video!)

that I would be good even if I did nothing
that I would be good even if I got the thumbs down
that I would be good if I got and stayed sick
that I would be good even if I gained ten pounds

that I would be fine even if I went bankrupt
that I would be good if I lost my hair and my youth
that I would be great if I was no longer queen
that I would be grand if I was not all knowing

that I would be loved even when I numb myself
that I would be good even when I am overwhelmed
that I would be loved even when I was fuming
that I would be good even if I was clingy

that I would be good even if I lost sanity
that I would be good
whether with or without you


Those are the lyrics to Alanis Morisette’s song “That I would be good”.

As I was listening to it on the radio it made so much sense to me.  We are INNATELY good.  We are divine light and incarnations of the great infinite.  We keep struggling to be more, get more, and there never seems to be ENOUGH in our lives.  But there is a way to overcome the urge to keep beating ourselves up.

Yoga is one way, and so is BEING conscious and PRESENT as much as we can.

Yoga has taught me to be more compassionate.  As I navigate my sometimes chaotic  journey, I often face the need to cultivate more compassion.  It really makes the “craziness” of life much less intense, and helps it fade into the background as loving comes into being. There is a certain spaciousness that is created when we feel through the heart and learn to really love unconditionally.  This often starts with one SELF.

Self compassion opens the door to more loving kindness to come through in your life.  Self compassion in particular allows us to forgive ourselves for being EVERYTHING THAT WE ARE!

Not just the so called successes and “good” traits. In order to navigate this place we call our world and life, self forgiveness is undeniably indispensible.  Without self forgiveness and forgiveness of others, we only trap ourselves in our pain, past and anything we are holding on to.

Self compassion requires ACCEPTANCE of all that we are, and that includes past mistakes.  its incredibly LIBERATING to just forgive and accept we are where we are and nothing is any more perfect than that.  Every moment is an opportunity to become present and live in the knowing that we are just right, right now.

self-love31

If we keep GRASPING for the future to feel better, get better status, a better job, a better partner, a better degree we lose the essence of what we truly are, right here right now.

Similarly if we keep holding on to the past, and beat are ourselves up for not having done enough, wasting time, bad relationships, family conflicts, or bad career choices we inevitably remain stuck in that negative whirlpool and risk drowning any chance to move forward and grow.

So what does a Travelling Yogi do when that ‘negative voice’ pops up and berates down any good intentions- we STOP- and say a word to just label it.  We aren’t judging the voice, its neither good nor bad.  When I catch that voice I say THINKING in my head or out loud even.  This helps me DIS – identify with the voice.  I am no longer that voice. I am, the I AM behind it.

So you might find when you start doing this, that your saying “THINKING” over and over again- numerous times a day at nauseaum even.

THAT’S A GREAT THING!

You may think ” how can that be a great thing?  I don’t want all these voices in my head.  The fact that you CATCH YOURSELF means you are becoming more AWARE of it!

That’s HUGE.

Some never even realize HOW much they allow that useless chatter to invade their daily presence.  We can go entire, days, weeks, months living as if that VOICE is really us, who we are.  BUT its not YOU! Its the EGO wanting to assert itself and its identity.  The more you seperate yourself from that voice, and disassociate from it, the stronger you connect with the inner core of your greatness!

head talk

WHAT DOES THAT INNER EGOIC SOUND LIKE?

  • You need…. anything that comes after that is a judgment and will not enhance your growth
  • You are not attractive enough, not thin enough, not wealthy enough, not good enough, not enough friends, not enough education..you can simply go on forever.  No matter how much you have, you will never feel ENOUGH if you allow that voice to dictate your life, and present moment
  • I’m too poor, too old, too fat, too busy, too ANYTHING, you get caught in the next voice that comes …
  • I should do, be or have this or that.  Shoulds are useless and prevent you being in the present moment
  • OR the voice can start to blame others- he did this to me, she wasn’t listening enough, she didn’t care, he keeps neglecting me, etc ect.  Blaming others only imprisons you further in your pain and misery. LET IT GO!

That EGOIC voice is deadly to our self growth and awareness. Start by becoming more AWARE of it.  That’s all. You don’t have to do anything but listen, and when you catch it, interrupt and let it pass and come to the present moment which is full of light and love.

Send me your “That I would be good” stories, would love to hear it!

Travel light!

Travelling Yogi

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 10 2009
catalyst yogi

Sat Nam, (reverent greetings)

Thanks for this article !

It really is about disconnecting from the ‘madness of the ego’ which is about keeping us separate from one another and separate from our Inner Being – our Soul.

The Truth is that we are Pure Light and Love – that is our true identity. Everything else is an illusion.

As we come into the Aquarian Age (2012 and beyond) also the Great Age of Truth – everything NOT in Truth will fall away – so all the feelings and thoughts of self-hatred, doubt, insecurity, fear etc. are all coming up to be released into the light.

Yoga + Meditation will connect you to your true identity and you will begin to love your inner being and the voice of the ego will become less dominating.

peace and love to ALL,

Catalyst Yogi
http://www.catalystyogi.com/
http://twitter.com/catalyst_yogi

1 11 2009
Skylor

I don’t know if you have read much Thich Nhat Hanh, but I think you would really enjoy his work based on this post. I enjoyed it, thank you for sharing!

3 11 2009
yogaheals

YES! great soul Thich Nhat hanh! thank you for the compliment and for mentioning it. namaste

7 11 2009
sanaacooks

I love to read your posts in the morning, they make me feel calm and looking forward for the day.

20 11 2009
Dale

Very cool. thanks for this

Leave a Reply

